Thursday, April 17, 2014

Adventures in ACA--Behavioral Health and Coverage

     Let me start with a confession: I am a dirty Liberal. Within reason, of course. I eat a lot of things that are bad for me (Vanilla Coke, I love thee, though thy sugary, carbonated goodness makes me puffy and sluggish). I shop at Wal-Mart (I'm a broke-ass American). I believe that Gun Control is both hands on your piece and only aiming at what you absolutely mean to shoot. That being said, I love "Obamacare".

     I know very little about being an independent adult, but I am willing to learn. So, once the spouse and I were signed up for affordable health care, I made damn sure to get control of my health care. First things first, mental health. It's been about two years since I've seen a MHP, give or take a couple of months. My medication isn't working any more (the depression is getting worse, rather than better), and I could really do with a sleep aid that isn't antihistamines and hope. So, yesterday, I called up my insurance and asked for a few numbers I could call.

     I noticed first that I could barely understand the person on the other end. The accent wasn't one I couldn't puzzle out, and they weren't really mumbling, they were just talking faster than I could process. Just a nitpick, I guess. Also, the prompts on the menu to get Spanish help were in terribly pronounced Spanish. I speak just enough Spanish to know that. The call center person did ask me if I'd prefer a male or female psychiatrist, or if I didn't care, so well done on that front. There are things I'm not sure I can discuss with a male psychiatrist. I got three numbers, all very nearby where I live. 

     The issue we ran into was when I wanted an estimate of coverage. My coverage, it seems, doesn't start until May 1st. So, no estimate. Annoying, but I guess it could be worse. I'm going to have to muddle through until then.

Today's Health: I didn't sleep well last night, so I'm really tired. This is a week when I can't stretch out on a sofa and nap until I have to fetch Youngblood; I have him all day. I get tomorrow off and I plan on sleeping in. I love my husband, I know we have a date, but if he wakes me before 10 AM, I'm going to smack him with a shoe.


No comments:

Post a Comment