When I was in 7th grade, I was followed home by two girls who threatened to cut off my hair. As a child, I cursed the fact that I could have neither blond (I have a very sallow complexion), nor straight (my mother is mostly Black and Puerto Rican), nor stylish (layering and bangs ain't happening, just sayin'). But the threats traumatized me. I have not had scissors near my hair without fear since 1999. Now? Of course I have learned to love "The Beast" as I call it. I just have neither the spoons nor the time to do much to it. I usually pin it up in a bun and call it even. I brush it out as often as I wash it, which isn't, due to the dry brittleness of my hair, but I try to look as well-groomed as I can.
Now, being both a LARPer (Live Action Roleplayer) and a recent convert to Lolita fashion, I find that a simple bun just won't cut it. This weekend, for example. A friend talked me into playing in a Werewolf: the Apocalypse game, right before my standard Changeling: the Lost. I have my first Loli coordinate all lined up with makeup and accessories, but my hair has me stumped. I will be washing it and, for Werewolf, I'll probably wear it in tons of little braids, but what do I do after? Unbraiding it will save me some styling (huzzah for hair that holds a curl/wave), but do I do the ever-popular baby doll half-pigtails? Just sweep it back? AUGH.
What do you do when your hair leaves you stumped?